The Northwest Kansas Library System (NWKLS) announced that CCC Library Director Tara Schroer was named Librarian of the Year for 2015. The award is given to a member librarian who exemplifies service, dedication, and hard work. 

NWKLS is one of seven regional library systems in Kansas, which provides cooperative support to various types of libraries in a sparsely populated region of Kansas. The system serves 21 public libraries, 33 school libraries, 2 academic libraries, and 3 special libraries.

According to NWKLS director George Seamon, Schroer won the award because of her enthusiasm and the student-centered attention of the staff. 

“She has taken H.F. Davis Memorial Library and made it one of the centers of Colby Community College,” Seamon said. “When you enter the library it is inviting, warm, and best of all, busy. There is always a flurry of activity. Tara provides personalized assistance to students and promotes great customer service in her staff.”

Seamon said Schroer was also chosen because of her steadfast approach to improvement. “Tara continues to learn in her career and is looking for new and innovative ways to serve students,” he said.

“She has always been willing to assist NWKLS by serving on committees, attending meetings, and providing feedback.”

The staff at NWKLS are the nominating and voting body for the award. Consideration is given to the library, library staff, efforts of the candidate, patrons, and interactions with NWKLS staff.