Thirty Colby Community College students were inducted into the Rho Iota Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Tuesday evening at CCC's Cultural Arts Center.

After introductory remarks by PTK advisor Sami Talsma and CCC President Dr. Seth Carter, the keynote was delivered by retired CCC English instructor Connie Davis.

New members include Jarrett Bates (Pratt), Breanna Campbell (Canton, Ohio), Bryson Castillo (Yuma, Colo.), Wendy Chavez (Colby), Ximena Estrada (Yuma, Colo.), Konnor Griffin (Colby), Macy Gurnsey (Severance, Colo.) Aaron Heintzelman (Leavenworth), Danielle Isham (Colby), Carla Johnson (Oakley), Robin Kennedy (Johnson City, Tenn.), Tyrik King (Liberal), Shante Korbe (Hays), Makenna Merhoff (Greensburg), Sarah Mills (Ashland), Ryan Myers (Colby), Laurel Myers (Colby), Claire Nelson (Colby), Abigail Ordonez (Goodland), Abigail Rascon-Hernandez (Colby), Anahy Sandoval-Sanchez (Phillipsburg), Kylah Smith (Grinnell), Hunter Stephenson (Spearville), Candace Taylor (Dresden), Mariza Trujillo (Albuquerque, N.M.), Charity Weeks (Scott City), Allison Westbrook (Loveland, Colo.), Jacob Wetter (Colby), Jennifer Williams (Peyton, Colo.), and Summer Young (Cedaredge, Colo.).

Officers for 2021-22 are Sarah Seifert, president; Laurel Myers, vice president; Candace Taylor, secretary; Tyrik King, public relations; and Konnor Griffin, treasurer.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of community colleges. Founded in 1918, it is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 recognized chapters in 10 nations. The primary purpose of PTK is to recognize and encourage scholarship, learning and academic achievement among two-year college students.

Membership is based on grade point average and other criteria, with members focusing on academic achievement and service to the community and campus.