Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) will recognize Colby Community College President Dr. Seth Carter as one of 13 college presidents to receive the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction during PTK Catalyst 2022, the Society's annual convention in Denver, Colo., on April 7-9.

The Shirley B. Gordon Award is Phi Theta Kappa's most prestigious distinction for community college presidents. It is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa's longest-serving board of directors chair and a founder and long-time president of Highline Community College in Washington.

The award recognizes individuals who have shown support of student success initiatives leading to stronger pathways to completion, transfer, and employment. They have taken an active interest in supporting high-achieving students and developing student leaders on campus.

Recipients are nominated by students on their campus.

"Dr. Carter has shown immense support for CCC's Phi Theta Kappa chapter," said Colby PTK advisor Samantha Talsma. "It's no surprise that our students would want to nominate him or that he was selected for this award."

To be eligible, college presidents must have served in their role for at least five years. The 13 recipients were selected from among 617 eligible college presidents.

"He's played a huge role in helping our chapter, Rho Iota, succeed," Talsma added. "We are looking forward to inducting almost 30 students into the honor society on March 1st. These students have taken at least 12 college credit hours and obtained at least a 3.5 GPA. It is encouraging to have a president that recognizes their hard work to achieve this level of academic success."

Now entering his seventh year leading CCC, Dr. Carter also received PTK's Paragon Award for New Presidents in 2019.