Colby Community College announced the Colby Commitment Scholarship, a tuition, fees, and books benefit for students on free and reduced lunches attending high schools in the institution's 14-county service area. Additionally, all students attending Thomas County high schools are eligible for the award.

The College Board of Trustees unanimously approved the scholarship proposal at their Oct. 16 meeting.

"We are so grateful to the Board for supporting this initiative," said President Dr. Seth Carter. "Colby Community College is deeply invested in the success of Northwest Kansas, and the Colby Commitment Scholarship further illustrates this by providing access to a high-quality education."

All juniors and seniors at Brewster, Colby, and Golden Plains high schools qualify, as do those attending private and home schools within Thomas County.

Students at high schools in Cheyenne, Decatur, Gove, Graham, Logan, Norton, Phillips, Rawlins, Rooks, Sheridan, Sherman, Thomas, Trego, and Wallace counties may be eligible according to family-adjusted gross income in relation to the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) income guidelines for Free and Reduced Meals.

In the midst of increasing higher education costs, Colby Community College has been innovative in making college available for the region.

"The scholarship eliminates barriers to educational attainment and helps move Northwest Kansas in a positive direction," Carter added.

The Colby Commitment Scholarship, which is renewed annually, is available for the spring 2024 semester. For more information, families can contact Brette Hankin at (785) 460-5509 or at