Preamble of the US Constitution

Candidates withdraw from forum

Candidates withdraw from forum

Wed Jul 8, 2020

In a letter released Tuesday afternoon, four candidates have withdrawn from Wednesday's Thomas County Forum, citing a code of ethics and judicial canons that preclude them from discussing specific topics.

District Judicial Magistrate Judge Richard Ress and his opponent Nick Throckmorton, along with County Attorney Rachel Lamm and challenger Christopher Rohr, stated the format could lead to ethical dilemmas that would not serve the interests of Thomas county residents.

Other candidates on the slate are expected to attend. For the position of county commissioner in District 2, Brian Luedke and Paul Steele are on the ballot. Current commissioner Mike Baughn is being challenged by Jenny Niblock and Dale Vap in District 3.

The forum begins at 7 p.m. in the Colby Community College Frahm Theatre. All who attend are strongly encouraged to wear a mask.