CCC Athletics Logo

Athletics News

NJCAA Recognizes Eight Baseball Players

The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) headquarters in Colorado Springs today released the names of the 2011-12 NJCAA Academic Student-Athlete Awards.  Eight Trojan student-athletes were recognized by the organization for academic excellence. 

The NJCAA Academic Student-Athlete Awards were previously known as NJCAA Academic All-American honors.  The NJCAA has renamed its academic awards program to the following:

NJCAA Pinnacle Award for Academic Excellence (4.0 GPA on 4.0 scale)

NJCAA Award for Superior Academic Achievement (3.80 to 3.99 GPA)

NJCAA Award for Exemplary Academic Achievement (3.60 to 3.79 GPA)

CCC Pinnacle Award recipients are Lindsey Campbell (Arvada, Colo.), softball; and Carson Konrade (Spearville), men’s basketball.

Superior Academic Achievement Award recipients are Mitchell Ackerman (Spearville), men’s basketball; and Vincent Dillard (Sanford, Fla.), men’s basketball.

Exemplary Academic Achievement Award recipients are James Leonard (Crosby, Tex.), men’s cross country, men’s indoor track & field, and men’s outdoor track and field; Vanessa Loya (El Paso, Tex.), women’s cross country, women’s indoor track & field and women’s outdoor track and field; Austin Russell (Canada), baseball; and Marty Wendel (Ingalls), men’s basketball.

Since 1938 the NJCAA has been the governing body of two-year college athletics, offering athletic and academic opportunities to college students.  Now entering its 75th anniversary, the NJCAA is the second largest national intercollegiate athletic organization in the United States with over 500 member schools in 43 states.